All Walks

O.T. Dam Circuit Walk

Walk Difficulty This beautiful circuit walk is located in a deep gully surrounded by native bushland vegetation including Eucalyptus forests. This walk is moderately difficult with hills and formed track offering views of the picturesque OT Dam which has a boardwalk around it.

The main OT dam was built in 1934 by local men employed the OT Cordial Company (later to become Kia Ora Cordials) using horse drawn scoops with stone being carted for the wall/bank. Two dams were constructed for teh cordial companies irrigation purposes; this larger one in the timber above the property and a second smaller dam on Boundary Road (near where Collins Road is located). The company made a cordial called OT with chillies which is where the name OT came from. The business closed in the early 1940's probably due to lack of manpower due to the war.

The walk is well sign posted and borders the Hillview Quarry.

  • Address:
527 Arthurs Seat Road Arthurs Seat Victoria 3936
  • Route Information:
Circuit
  • Start Location:
527 Arthurs Seat Road Arthurs Seat Victoria 3936
  • End Location:
527 Arthurs Seat Road Arthurs Seat Victoria 3936
  • Distance:
3 KMS
  • Time to Complete:
1.5 HRS
  • Facilities:
Carpark
  • Difficulty Rating:
2/5

O.T. Dam Circuit Walk

This beautiful circuit walk is located in a deep gully surrounded by native bushland vegetation including Eucalyptus forests. This walk is moderately difficult with hills and formed track offering views of the picturesque OT Dam which has a boardwalk around it. The main OT dam was built in 1934 by local men employed the OT Cordial Company (later to become Kia Ora Cordials) using horse drawn scoops with stone being carted for the wall/bank. Two dams were constructed for teh cordial companies irrigation purposes; this larger one in the timber above the property and a second smaller dam on Boundary Road (near where Collins Road is located). The company made a cordial called OT with chillies which is where the name OT came from. The business closed in the early 1940's probably due to lack of manpower due to the war. The walk is well sign posted and borders the Hillview Quarry.

  • Service Facility:
Carpark, Circuit, Walk, Birdwatching, Walks

TOP